Art Every Day Month (Nov 7): Drawing Challenge

Standard

Most days, the way I’m creative is being the art director of my camps and classes.

After we are all cleaned up and it’s almost ready to go home, the kids love to play a game I invented called the Drawing Contest.

Everyone gets  a black pen and a big piece of paper.

I tell them…

1. It’s fun!

2. You’ll be surprised!

3. You have to listen and draw what I say.  After a couple of minutes, I’ll give you the next suggestion.

Ready to play?

Here’s an example:

simple

First, draw  a rocket in the middle of the page

Make sure your rocket has three windows.

Attached to the rocket by a rope is an astronaut

The astronaut is holding hands with a monkey

With the other hand the astronaut is holding a three scoop ice cream cone

IMG_2245

On the ground is a jumpy house with three girls inside

On top of the jumpy house is King Kong

A bird eating a snake is sitting on King Kong’s shoulder

Also on the ground draw a rectangle

Inside the rectangle make two mountains  joined by a bridge

A man is bungee jumping off the bridge

Put two different fruits on the mountaintops

Actually, the rectangle is a fishtank!  Add two sharks and a turtle

IMG_2244

In the air somewhere, draw three hearts that fit inside each other

Make the heart fly by adding wings

Put high heeled shoes on the flying heart

Finally, add three things to your picture to surprise me and see if I can figure it out!

Thanks Dirty Footprints Studio for writing a fun post about Scrappers.

….. it made me look in my scrap bin and remember to share the Art Yowza Drawing Contest

9 thoughts on “Art Every Day Month (Nov 7): Drawing Challenge

  1. I do something similar…except with people. We play who stole the cafeteria’s _____ (whatever was the main dish of the day). I then describe the “thief” that stole the food. It’s fun! But I’m going to try your drawing contest as well.

    Thanks for sharing all your gems of creativity!

    Peace & Love.

  2. Oh, this idea is just wonderful! The photos you showed are great, by the way. I’m going to use your technique the next time I get to see my grandchildren. What fun! They’ll love it.

  3. What a great technique for revealing our unique perspectives, and keeping everyone tuned in, to stay on top of what is coming next. A true Presence Process. Thanks for sharing a dandy tool for my teaching bag!

Leave a Reply

